Skip to content
MomMetabolicEVIDENCE-FIRST METABOLIC HEALTH
Menu
Grade B

Ro review

Written by Elena Voss, Metabolic Health Editor

Elena Voss is a mother writing for mothers, not a treating clinician, and holds no medical license. Prices and terms come from the company's own published pages. This is background reading, not medical advice.

The most polished route to on-label Wegovy or Zepbound, with a dedicated insurance concierge — powerful if the branded product is the goal, though the membership fee and the medication cost are always two separate charges.

$149/mo membership month to month, $74/mo on annual prepay (medication billed separately)

Consult Medication Coaching
See plans at Ro
  • Confirm HSA / FSA coverage
  • Public information reviewed
  • Confirm your total cost
Compare alternatives ↓

Ro at a glance

Semaglutide
$149/mo membership month to month, $74/mo on annual prepay (medication billed separately)
Tirzepatide
$149/mo membership month to month, $74/mo on annual prepay (medication billed separately)
Coverage
Multi-state
Brand-name
Yes

How we scored Ro

Every factor comes from Ro's own published pricing, disclosures and oversight, and the six combine into the 84/100 Metabolic-Fit Score on our weighted six-factor framework. Commissions don't change a provider's score.

Postpartum & breastfeeding guidance88/100 · Strong

Intake asks about pregnancy and nursing, and a clinician will discuss timing.

PCOS & hormonal fit84/100 · Solid

Covers the drugs that matter for PCOS, without hormone-specific support.

Clinical oversight & labs88/100 · Strong

Named clinicians and pharmacies with real, verifiable oversight.

True monthly cost70/100 · Weak

Cost is unpredictable or sits at the premium end.

Ongoing support86/100 · Strong

Follow-up, titration help, and messaging are part of the package.

Cancellation fairness85/100 · Strong

Cancellation is workable but not frictionless.

How we checked this review

Ro is brand-name only — no compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide — and the membership is separate from the drug: $39 the first month, then $74 to $149. Ro publishes dose-specific medication prices separately; insurance eligibility, dose and product determine the complete cost.

Before you sign up

What Ro's public site and signup page show before you hand over any details.

Worth knowing

  • Answer health and goals questions entirely online — Ro states no in-person office visit is necessary to start
  • The Ro Body membership is $39 the first month, then $74/mo (annual prepay) or $149/mo (month-to-month), with medication billed separately from that fee
  • Membership includes a dedicated insurance concierge, up to 24 provider consults a year, unlimited coach messaging, and lab testing where needed
  • Cash-pay members can reach a first dose in under a week, per Ro's own site; insurance-routed prescriptions take about 2-3 weeks for authorization
  • Whether the monthly provider check-ins are a live video visit or async messaging is not clearly disclosed on Ro's own pages
  • Six brand-name GLP-1 options are listed (Wegovy pill/pen, Zepbound pen/KwikPen, Foundayo pill, off-label Ozempic) — no compounded route
  • The membership fee is separate from the medication cost either way, so the real monthly is always two line items

Pricing

MedicationPricePlan
Brand semaglutide$39 → $74Ro Body membership (annual prepay)$39 first month, then as low as $74/mo on an annual prepay. Medication cost is separate and depends on treatment and insurance.
Brand semaglutide$39 → $149Ro Body membership (monthly plan)$39 first month, then $149/mo on the month-to-month plan. Medication is billed separately.

Swipe the table to see plan details →

Many HSA and FSA plans cover GLP-1 telehealth — check yours. These figures are what Ro's own site disclosed at last review; this market re-prices often, so confirm the current number at the source.

What we like

  • Access to brand-name Wegovy and Zepbound with a dedicated insurance concierge that files paperwork
  • On-label products carry the manufacturer's own pregnancy and lactation language — cleaner to hand to an OB
  • Fast cash-pay start — under a week to first dose, per Ro's own site
  • Well-funded clinical operation with an oral option

The caveats

  • No compounded option — brand-name only, and cash-pay brand medication is expensive without coverage
  • The membership fee and the medication cost are always separate charges; Ro doesn't publish a combined monthly
  • Not disclosed whether monthly check-ins require a live video visit or run async
  • Not organized around a mother's hormonal-timing questions

Ro: the most institutional route to on-label medication, priced in two parts

Ro is the largest, best-resourced consumer platform a mother is likely to encounter shopping for a GLP-1 online, and the scale shows up in specifics: a dedicated insurance concierge that files prior authorizations, up to twenty-four provider consults a year, and six brand-name options — Wegovy pill and pen, Zepbound pen and KwikPen, the newer oral Foundayo, and off-label Ozempic. What Ro does not offer is a compounded route. And what its own pricing page does not do is add its two charges into one number for the reader.

The membership and the medicine, itemized separately

  • Ro Body membership, annual prepay: $39 first month, then as low as $74/month
  • Ro Body membership, month-to-month: $39 first month, then $149/month
  • Medication: billed separately; starting cash prices include Wegovy pill $149, Wegovy pen $199 and Zepbound KwikPen $299, subject to eligibility
  • Time to first dose: under a week cash-pay, roughly 2–3 weeks routed through insurance

Ro now publishes representative medication starting prices: Wegovy pill from $149 per month, Wegovy pen from $199 and Zepbound KwikPen from $299, subject to eligibility. Add the separate membership: $39 initially, then $149 month-to-month or as low as $74 on annual prepayment. The medication sticker alone does not describe total treatment cost.

What the site does not say about the visit itself

Ro markets its intake as requiring "no in-person doctor's office visit" — a true claim, and a different one from no video visit. Provider check-ins occur monthly, described elsewhere as up to twenty-four "discrete medical consults" a year alongside ongoing coach messaging. Whether those consults run as a scheduled camera appointment or an asynchronous review is not stated plainly on Ro's own pages. For a mother whose whole reason for shopping online is avoiding a fixed appointment slot around a nursing schedule or a toddler's nap, that is a real gap in the disclosure — confirm it directly before entering payment information.

Where the infrastructure earns its keep

The insurance concierge is the genuine differentiator. Most compounded providers treat coverage as a mother's own problem; Ro puts a dedicated team on prior authorizations and appeals, and states that if a claim is denied, its providers are positioned to pivot to an alternative FDA-approved cash-pay option rather than leaving a patient stuck. On-label brand product also carries the manufacturer's own pregnancy and lactation labeling — a cleaner document to hand an OB than a compounded formulation with no FDA review behind it. For a family with employer coverage that might genuinely pay for a brand GLP-1, that concierge service can be worth more than a lower sticker price found elsewhere.

The bottom line

Ro is a legitimate, well-built, brand-only platform with real insurance infrastructure behind it and the fastest cash-pay start on this board at under a week. Weigh that against two real gaps: no compounded option if the brand price does not fit the budget, and no clear answer to whether the monthly check-in is a video call or a message thread. If you want to investigate compounded treatment instead of Ro's brand-only route, CoreAge Rx, a featured partner, is one option. Obtain the current prescribed-plan total and ask about follow-up; a published starting figure cannot establish a saving or replace your own reproductive-timing discussion with the clinician.

The bottom line for mothers

Best for: Mothers who specifically want an FDA-approved, on-label medication and help getting it covered, and are comfortable on a large consumer platform, budgeting membership and medication as separate line items.

Alternatives to Ro

These are partners — we may be paid if you sign up through these links. The full list has every provider we cover, partner or not.

  • CoreAge RxFeatured partner

    CoreAge's officially linked public offer advertises compounded semaglutide at $79/month and tirzepatide at $129/month across doses, with care and overnight shipping included. It describes one-time purchases without a required subscription. Main navigation still shows semaglutide from $99; confirm your prescription quantity and total, and read the refund limits before paying.

    Visit CoreAge Rx
  • A real telehealth marketplace with a video visit and a clinician you pick — now brand-first, so you get on-label Wegovy or Zepbound with the manufacturer's own pregnancy labeling, if you can absorb a membership fee stacked on the drug price.

    Visit Sesame
  • Compounded GLP-1s as an injection or an oral dissolving tablet, plus brand pens from $899 a month on a 3-month plan, in 49 states — but compounded prices appear only after the assessment and no cancellation policy is published.

    Visit Wellorithm

Providers like Ro

Keep comparing Ro

Ro, answered

How much does Ro cost?
Ro does not establish a comparable recurring monthly medication rate. Published pricing: $149/mo membership month to month, $74/mo on annual prepay (medication billed separately) for semaglutide; $149/mo membership month to month, $74/mo on annual prepay (medication billed separately) for tirzepatide. Ask for the complete charge, supply period and renewal terms before committing.
Is Ro safe to use while breastfeeding?
No GLP-1 is established as safe in pregnancy. If you are nursing, the Wegovy injection and Ozempic labels say there is little or no data on the drug in breast milk, and they leave it to you and your clinician to weigh the benefits of breastfeeding against your need for treatment. Ro is not an exception to any of that — settle the timing with your own clinician.
Does Ro offer both semaglutide and tirzepatide?
Yes — Ro offers both molecules. Tirzepatide's dual GIP/GLP-1 action is often preferred where insulin resistance drives weight, which matters for PCOS and after gestational diabetes.
How does Ro score for mothers?
Ro scores 84/100 on our Metabolic-Fit Score, a weighted read of six things mothers actually have to care about. CoreAge Rx, a featured partner, is worth a side-by-side look.

Pricing, states and verification reflect Ro's public disclosures at last review; the Metabolic-Fit Score is our editorial judgment per the published methodology. This is background reading, not medical advice — GLP-1 medications are not established as safe in pregnancy or breastfeeding. See our medical disclaimer and how we're funded.

← Back to all providers